This item is no longer available.

The Mute Gods Tardigrades Will Inherit the Earth CD
Tardigrades Will Inherit the Earth

The Mute Gods Tardigrades Will Inherit the Earth CD

Sorry, this Product is out of stock.

Release Date: February 24, 2017

With the second Mute Gods album, Nick Beggs (Steven Wilson, Steve Hackett), Roger King (Steve Hackett) and Marco Minnemann (Joe Satriani, Aristocrats) deliver an adventurous rock effort infused with timely perspectives on the state of religion, politics, media, and the environment. ‘Tardigrades Will Inherit the Earth’ examines these and other major queries facing our planet. It’s a darker, deeply thought-provoking follow-up to acclaimed 2016 debut recording ‘Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me.’ Musically, ‘Tardigrades…’ is an expansive rock effort with a heavier, more metal-oriented focus than its predecessor, yet steeped in melodies and addictive hooks.

The Mute Gods was founded in 2015 by Beggs, a celebrated bassist, Stick player, songwriter and vocalist who has sold more than three million records with his own groups. His contributions also grace the work of myriad artists and genres, including progressive rock, pop, Celtic, funk, and soul. Beggs records and tours with Steven Wilson, one of the best-selling alternative rock artists of this generation, as well as Steve Hackett, formerly of Genesis. In addition, Beggs has worked with legends across the pop and rock worlds, including Belinda Carlisle, John Paul Jones, Gary Numan, Kim Wilde, Englebert Humperdink and Seal. In the progressive rock realm, he’s also performed with Steve Howe, Iona, Lifesigns, and Rick Wakeman. Roger King, Mute Gods keyboardist and producer, also works with Beggs on Hackett’s sold-out world tours. King has long been Hackett’s right-hand man, serving in production, arrangement and writing capacities for the guitarist. Marco Minnemann, considered one of the most important, explosive drummers of our time, has worked with Beggs extensively on many Wilson tours and recordings.

1. Saltatio Mortis (1:57)
2. Animal Army (5:00)
3. We Can’t Carry On (5:11)
4. The Dumbing of the Stupid (7:09)
5. Early Warning (3:56)
6. Tardigrades Will Inherit the Earth (5:20)
7. Window Onto the Sun (6:00)
8. Lament (2:01)
9. The Singing Fish of Batticaloa (8:24)
10. The Andromeda Strain (2:57)
11. Stranger Than Fiction (4:21)